1 Comment

#TruGrad Guest Post: Ruxandra Fratescu: Why I want to be a recruiter #trulondon


I’m really pleased with the progress we have been making with the #truGrad scheme that came out of the Grad track at #truLondon. Just 2 weeks on we have 30 students and 30 mentors working together to help those graduating to set a realistic plan for getting their first job. It’s not a one way street though, on my part,it’s been a real eye-opener to see the challenges faced by graduates who need to balance critical final year studies and applying for a job.

The #truGrads community site will be operational within the next 10 days. built on a Social Go network. We are still looking for additional companies, mentors and students to get involved. Drop me a message if you want to play a part.

I’ve been working with Ruxandra, who is looking for a career in recruiting. This is Ruxandra explaining in her own words why she wants to be a Recruiter:

Why do I want to be a Recruiter?

Whenever someone asks me this question, I am tempted to grab a piece of paper and quickly write down few points because at that moment, lots of reasons are crossing my mind.

I want to work in a sales environment, and being a Recruiter means  selling. Any sales person has a monthly/yearly target to achieve, and I strongly believe that this will  motivate me to achieve.

For me, achieving 100% of April’s target means that I can do far more than that. Consequently, in May I will work towards achieving at least 110% of the same target,  leading to professional recognition, financial rewards but, most important, to a rise in self-awareness, as I discover I can do more than I thought and gain confidence.

Recruitment is definitely challenging. It will always make me want  to learn more and develop.

We are talking about working with client companies, building relationships in order to gain a better understanding of their recruitment needs and requirements.  It also  means attracting candidates, interviewing them and matching them to the client companies. All these tasks require great communication and interpersonal skill in order to talk to people at different levels and adapt to different situations.  I will always have to be out there ensuring that I am better than the competition which is tough’ in this growing industry.

When you say ‘Recruitment‘, you say ‘variety’, and I want my job to give me the opportunity to do something different every day. Marketing, networking, searching the candidate database to find the right person, receiving and reviewing applications, organising and managing interviews, informing candidates, preparing CV’s, negotiating pay and salary rates…I think this is the environment that would never allow me to get bored, furthermore as the jobs may vary from entry-level roles to directors.

Having a passion for foreign languages I consider that working in an international recruitment firm would give me the opportunity to practice the four languages I can speak, and probably motivate me to learn another one to make the difference (e.g Arabic, Mandarin, Russian). Having said this, it is essential that my future job fulfils both my need for professional and personal development, and I have enough reasons to think that being a recruiter will do this.

It might seem that I only see the good aspects of this job, however I have not forgotten the ones such as…High targets? Long hours? Hard work? Responsibility and high pressure? The satisfaction of winning over the fierce competition that exists in this industry will definitely make up for all these.

I’ve been really impressed with Ruxandra’s attitude to work. She is looking to start work in April with a recruiting firm, up to 90 minutes commute from North London. She is fluent in 3 languages and has a preference for contract or technical recruitment.

Check out her LinkedIn profile and C.V Please contact Ruxandra directly for more information or to arrange a meeting.if you have any advice for her,please leave it in comments,

Bill

Linked In Profile

C.V.

One comment on “#TruGrad Guest Post: Ruxandra Fratescu: Why I want to be a recruiter #trulondon

  1. Old colleague of mine, Andy Wakeford is hiring. Sent details his way. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

